Jump to contentJump to search
Getting ready for the future of Life Sciences

Quantitative Biology

The Quantitative Biology degree programme offers a study of Biology, that in addition to teaching important experimental techniques, is closely intertwined with methods of mathematical modeling, data science, and bioinformatics. The completely redisigned, new curriculum is strictly oriented toward the needs of modern biological and medical research - 62% of all job postings for biologists ask for at least one quantitative skill not covered in typical biology programmes.  

This bachelor's degree programme is fully taught in English and was developed in cooperation between Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf and the University of Cologne, with the support of CEPLAS (Cluster of Excellence on Plant Sciences)

Depending on your performance and preferences, after the fifth semster you can decide between a 3-year variant (with a one semester research phase) and a research intensive 4-year variant (with a 3 semester research phase).

Contact person

Photo of

Coordination Bachelor Program

Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
Zentrum für Synthetische Lebenswissenschaften
Universitätsstrasse 1

Building: 22.07
Floor/Room: 01.032
+49 211 81-11955
Responsible for the content:

Zum Inhalt springenZur Suche springen
Dein Weg in die Zukunft der Lebenswissenschaften

Quantitative Biology

Der Studiengang Quantitative Biology bietet ein Studium der Biologie, das neben der Vermittlung wichtiger experimenteller Techniken eng verzahnt ist mit Methoden der mathematischen Modellierung, Datenanalyse und Bioinformatik. Das Ergebnis ist ein völlig neu konzipierter Bachelor-Studiengang, der konsequent an den Bedürfnissen der modernen biologischen und medizinischen Forschung ausgerichtet ist: 62% aller Stellenanzeigen für Biologen fordern mindestens eine quantitative Kompetenz, die in traditionellen Biologiestudiengängen nicht vermittelt wird.

Der Bachelorstudiengang wird vollständig in englischer Sprache unterrichtet. Er wurde entwickelt in Kooperation zwischen der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf und der Universität zu Köln, unterstützt durch das Exzellenzcluster CEPLAS (Cluster of Excellence on Plant Sciences)

An die fünf-semestrige Grundphase schliesst sich eine Forschungsphase mit individuell gewählten biologischen Themenschwerpunkten an, die je nach Leistungen und Präferenzen der Studierenden entweder ein Semester (3-jährige Variante: QuantBio) oder drei Semester (4-jährige Variante: QuantBio+) umfasst.

 

 

Ansprechpartnerin

Foto von

Koordinatiorin Bachelor Programm

Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
Zentrum für Synthetische Lebenswissenschaften
Universitätsstrasse 1
Gebäude: 22.07
Etage/Raum: 01.032
+49 211 81-11955
Verantwortlichkeit: